We use cookies to improve our site and your experience. By continuing to browse our site you accept our cookie policy

More Information


Nottingham hosted the 2024 ECA Wildwater Sprint Canoeing European Cup race

Nottingham hosted the 2024 ECA Wildwater Sprint Canoeing European Cup race 7.4.2024

Nottingham was a venue of the third race in the 2024 ECA Wildwater Sprint Canoeing European Cup series. Hannah Brown, a well-know British paddler took the win in women’s kayak event.

After many years Great Britain was home of international Wildwater Canoeing competition of the higher level. The course in Nottingham hosted the British Open race, which counted as the 2024 ECA Wildwater Sprint Canoeing European Cup race.
In women’s kayak sprint event the win went to the hands of Hannah Brown, one of the best British paddlers, two-times Wildwater Canoeing World Champion, who celebrated world titles in 2013 and 2016. Brown crossed the finish line 0.99 seconds ahead of Molly Sandercock, while Kerry Christie took third place. She was 1.41 seconds behind Brown.
Sandercock won her second medal of the day in women’s canoe. She stopped the clock at 47.98 to take the win. She had a confident win, finishing the race 8.50 seconds ahead of Cleo Pitcher-Farrell in second place, while Chloe Bracewll in third place finished the race 8.88 seconds behind Sandercock.
Alex Sheppy was the winner of men’s kayak event (36.12). He was 0.16 seconds faster than Freddie Brown, who took the second position, while Huw Singleton finished in men’s kayak race in third place with half a second slower time than Sheppy.
In men’s canoe event the win went to Andrew Crowhurst who set the time 42.58 and no other competitor was able to beat him. Ryan Mallon came the closest in second place, but was 3.80 seconds behind. Callum McDonald won third place and was 4.76 seconds behind.
In men’s C2 final Andrew Crowhurst and Phil Dean won the race ahead of Robert Jefferies and Jacob Holmes, while Eddie Mackintosh and Callum Massey won third place.
In women’s C2 race Christie sisters – Emma and Kerry – took the win with a little less than half a second faster time than Maggie Dilai and Laura Milne produced. The third crew on the start of this event – Ciara Maloney and Elsie Lansborough – did not reach the finish line.
PHOTO: Dave Singleton Facebook