We use cookies to improve our site and your experience. By continuing to browse our site you accept our cookie policy

More Information


European slalomists very strong in Australia

European slalomists very strong in Australia 24.2.2020

Australian open canoe slalom competition was an excellent opportunity for European paddlers to test their form while on training camp at the 2000 Olympic course in Penrith. One gold, four silver and three bronze medals are a final score of European paddlers in Australia.

The only European winner of the weekend was Benjamin Savšek. Slovenian canoeist who is also a reigning European champion was the fastest in men’s C1 final. He was almost three seconds faster than Czech representative Matyas Lhota and Australian canoeist Daniel Watkins. The latter was the only non-European finalist in this event. Marko Mirgorodsky (SVK) was fourth, followed by Roberto Colazingari (ITA), Vaclav Chaloupka (CZE), Matija Marinić (CRO), Matej Benuš (SVK), Cedric Joly (FRA) and Lukaš Rohan (CZE).
In women’s kayak final German kayaker Ricarda Funk produced the fastest run but also picked up four penalty seconds which pushed her to second place and the win stayed in Australia with Jessica Fox. Camille Prigent from France was third in this final. Five more Europeans paddled in the final. Elena Apel(GER) was fourth, Eliška Mintalova (SVK) fifth, Martina Wegman (NED) sixth, Katerina Kudejova (CZE) seventh and Jana Dukatova (SVK) eighth.
Jessica Fox also won in women’s canoe final where Nuria Vilarrubla from Spain won second place and young Slovak Emanuela Luknarova finished third. World Champion Andrea Herzog was fourth, Elena Apel seventh (both GER), Monika Škachova (SVK) eighth, Gabriela Satkova ninth and Tereza Fišerova tenth (both CZE).
Europeans dominated men’s kayak final with nine athletes from the old continent in the top ten, but the win stayed in Australia thanks to Lucien Delfour. Giovanni de Gennaro from Italy was second and 2019 European Champion Vit Prindiš from Czech Republic third.  Just outside the podium was 2018 European Champion Peter Kauzer (SLO), followed by Zeno Ivaldi (ITA), Jiri Prskavec (CZE), Martin Dougoud (SUI), Vavrinec Hradilek (CZE), Quentin Burgi (FRA) and Ondrej Tunka (CZE).



Photo: JGRImages / Team Australia –Sprint/Slalom Facebook page