We use cookies to improve our site and your experience. By continuing to browse our site you accept our cookie policy

More Information


Canoe Sprint and Paracanoe European Championships ended with some surprises

Canoe Sprint and Paracanoe European Championships ended with some surprises 16.6.2024

The 2024 ECA Canoe Sprint, Paracanoe and SUP European Championships in Szeged, Hungary, has come to an end. The most successful nation in canoe sprint part of the championships was Hungary, and Ukraine dominated in paracanoeing part of the championships.

One of the most anticipated finals of the last day of the 2024 ECA Canoe Sprint, Paracanoe and SUP European Championships was men's K1 1000 metres final, where Hungarian Balint Kopasz and Portuguese Fernando Pimenta dominate for many years now. However, it was Aleh Yurenia (AIN) who shocked the Hungarian spectators from lane 9 and crossed the finish line in first place to claim European Champion title in front of home favourite Balint Kopasz (HUN), who was only 0.370 seconds behind, to win silver medal. Portuguese Fernando Pimenta finished the final in third place, 2,977 seconds behind Yurenia.
In women's K2 500 metres final Denmark celebrated gold medal thanks to their duo Emma Aastrand Jorgensen - Fredrerikke Matthiesen. They stopped the clock at 1:45.804, which was 0.107 seconds faster than Justyna Iskrzycka - Katarzyna Kolodziejczyk (POL) in second place. Bronze medal went to the hands of Hungarians Alida Gazso - Tamara Csipes who were 0.770 seconds behind.
Following was the men's C2 500 metres final, where Alexey Korovashkov - Ivan Shtyl (AIN) won the race ahead of Polish duo Wiktor Glazunow - Arsen Sliwinski, and Gabriele Casadei - Carlo Tacchini from Italy.
Polish canoeist Dorota Borowska set the fastest time in women's C1 200 metres final. She crossed the finish line with a time 46.322, which was almost a second faster than Antia Jacome from Spain in second place. Yuliya Trushkina (AIN) was third.
To conclude the first part of the finals of the day, men's K4 500 meters event, another Olympic highlight, was on the programme. Here, Mikita Borykau, Uladzislau Kravets, Uladzislau Litvinau and Dzitry Natynchyk (AIN) won the gold medal ahead of Polish K4 (Stepun, Korsak, Morawski, Witczak), and Italian crew (Rizza, Freschi, Lanciotti, Penato).
In the afternoon part of the programme, Hungarian spectators saw two gold medals won in the 5000 metres events. First, Adolf Balazs claimed the European Champion title in men's C1 5000 metres event, where Ivan Patapenka (AIN) was second and Serghei Tarnovschi (MDA) third.
In women's K1 5000 metres event Emese Kohalmi (HUN) took the gold medal with a time 22:33.539. Melina Andersson from Sweden was second (+1.102), and Maria Virik (NOR) third (+1.993).
Fernando Pimenta (POR) won his second medal of the day in the 5000 metres race. Here, he became European Champion after he managed to reach the finish line half a second ahead of Adam Varga (HUN), while Mads Pedersen (DEN) took bronze (+0.685).
The last event of the European Championships was women's C1 5000 meters race. Volha Klimava (AIN) won gold medal, Valeriia Tereta (UKR) was second, and Zsofia Kisban (HUN) thid.
Hungary concluded the canoe sprint part of the European Championships with a total of 19 medals (10 gold, 6 silver, 3 bronze), Poland finished second in the standings with 14 medals (3, 10, 1), and Portugal was third with a total of four medals (2, 1, 1). Spain won six medals but had only one gold medal, therefore it was behind Portugal and Italy, who both won four medals. Also, four medals were won by representatives of Denmark and Moldova. Sweden and Norway concluded the championships with three medals each, two medals were won by Czechia and Georgia, while Romania, Ukraine, Germany, Slovenia, Austria, France, Lithuania and Serbia won a medal each.
Five paracanoeing events on last day
On the last day of the European Championships, five paracanoeing events were scheduled. Ukrainian paddler Mykola Syniuk produced the best time in men's KL2 200 metres final, winning ahead of Italian Christian Volpi and Serbian Strahinja Bukvić.
Hungarian parakayaker Katalin Varga was crowned European Champion in women's KL2 200 metres final. German Anja Adler was second and Talia Eilat from Israel third.
Norberto Mourao from Portugal was the fastest in tight men's VL 200 metres final. Only 0.150 seconds divided him and Ukrainian Andrii Kryvchun in second place. Hungarian Robert Suba was third.
There were also held to non-official European Championships events. Maryna Mazhula (UKR), Edina Mueller (GER) and Eleonora De Paolis (GER) were the top three in women's KL1 200 metres event, while Ilya Taupianets (AIN), David Gonzalez (ESP) and Moritz Berthold (GER) reached the podium in men's VL1 200 metres final.
Ukraine was the most successful participating nation at the Paracanoeing European Championships. Their athletes won four medals (3 gold and a silver). Spain and France also won four medals. Spanish paddlers won two golds and two silvers, while French representatives won one gold, two silver and one bronze medal. Hungary and Italy each won three medals, Great Britain, Germany, Poland and Israel won two medals, while Serbia and Portugal celebrated a medal on Sunday.
Next year, the 2025 ECA Canoe Sprint and Paracanoe European Championships will take place in Račice, Czechia.

OFFICIAL WEBSITE: https://ech.szeged2024.com/

START LISTS / RESULTS: https://timetable.europecanoeevents.com/index.php?gmt=2&gmt2=-120

LIVESTREAMING AND TV BROADCAST: https://canoe-europe.org/news/2024-eca-canoe-sprint-paracanoe-and-sup-european-championships-live-on-eurovision-sport-2973