We use cookies to improve our site and your experience. By continuing to browse our site you accept our cookie policy

More Information


After World Cup, Ceske Budejovice hosted ECA Wildwater Sprint Canoeing European Cup race

After World Cup, Ceske Budejovice hosted ECA Wildwater Sprint Canoeing European Cup race 4.9.2023

Czechia was in the spotlight of wildwater canoeing community in the last days as Wildwater Canoeing World Cup races were held in Lipno and Ceske Budejovice. The latter also hosted the ECA European Wildwater Sprint Canoeing European Cup race.

The venue which welcomed the best young canoe slalom athletes last year at the ECA Junior and U23 Canoe Slalom European Championships now first welcomed best wildwater paddlers at two world cup races and later also at the European Cup race.
Czech competitors dominated the competition, where also representatives of France, Switzerland, Australia, Germany, Great Britain and Serbia took part in. Experienced paddlers were on the podium of men's canoe sprint final. It took 49.69 seconds for Antonin Haleš (CZE) to complete the course and take the win ahead of his compatriot Ondrej Rolenc. Rolenc was half a second behind, while French canoeist Etienne Klatt took bronze medal and was a little less than a second slower than Haleš.
22-year-old Czech kayaker Mikulaš Zapletal won in men's kayak final, but it was a very tight win. It was only 0.08 second between Zapletal and Swiss paddler Linus Bolzern in second place. Bronze medal also went to Switzerland, thanks to Luis Clavadetscher, who was 0.40 second behind the winner.
In women's canoe event Marie Nemcova (CZE) continued her excellent performances in the season 2023. European and World Champion in kayak sprint was the fastest in women's canoe final, crossing the finish line 0.22 seconds faster than Zuzana Dziadkova (CZE), while third place also stayed in Czechia thanks to Valentyna Kočirova.
In women's kayak final three Czech paddlers took the podium positions. It was Klara Vankova who found the fastest lines to claim the win. Ela Strechova was second and Kristina Novosadova third.
In the men's C2 final, Martin Novak and Antonin Haleš (CZE) celebrated the win ahead of their teammates František Salaj - Petr Šmakal who were second and third positioned Adam Ondrich and Samuel Vejnar.