Olympians in the spotlight of the XXXIV Spanish gala canoeing evening

03/03/2017 – The Royal Spanish Canoe Federation (RFEP) awarded their best athletes at the annual gala evening held in Madrid. It was an evening to celebrate great success of the Spanish athletes in the past season which will be written in the history books of the canoeing in Spain as one of the most memorable ones. Medallists of the Olympic Games were in the spotlight at the national gala event and more than 300 attendees were able to relieve the magic moments from Rio de Janeiro with the help of the video projections of all the Olympic finals.

Canoe Slalom Olympic Champion Maialen Chourraut was – unsurprisingly – named the best female paddler of the year in Spain. The ‘David Cal award’ for the best male paddler was this time given to three canoe sprint athletes. Olympic Champions from Rio de Janeiro – Saul Craviotto Rivero, Cristian Isaac Toro Carballo and Marcus Cooper Walz – all received the award for their great success in the Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas. The complete Olympic and Paralympic team, including the staff and technicians, received also a special mention during the gala evening.

The best male paracanoeing athlete of the year is Javier Reja Muñoz, the best female paracanoeist Elena del Mar Naveiro, the best male U23 athlete Roi Rodriguez Huertas, the best female U23 athlete Begoña Lazcano Guimerans, the best junior male paddler David Barreiro and the best female junior paddler Laia Sorribes. The best team of the year 2016 is senior canoe polo team. Coaches Miguel Garcia, Xabier Etxaniz and Luis Brasero, whose athletes won medals in Rio, were awarded the ‘José Montes award’.

The RFEP also recognised the technical officials – the award ‘Jacinto Regueira’ for the best technical official went to the hands of Enric Balastegui Artigues, Pere Framis, who passed away last year, was given a posthumous award, and the Spanish federation also recognised the sponsors and media professionals. The ceremony started with the presentation of the awards to the clubs, athletes, delegates in the national leagues in canoe slalom, sprint, polo, freestyle, wildwater downriver canoeing, ocean racing and marathon.


The list of all the winners is available here.

Source: http://www.rfep.es/publicacion/noticias.asp?n=2786

Europe Canoe Events

2017 ECA Competitions

ECA Canoe Wildwater Championships
May 11 - 14, 2017
Skopje, MKD

ECA Canoe Slalom Championships
May 31 - June 4, 2017
Tacen, SLO

ECA Junior & U23 Canoe Sprint Championships
June 22 - 25, 2017
Belgrade, SRB

ECA Canoe Marathon Championships
June 30 - July 2, 2017
Ponte de Lima, POR

ECA Dragonboat & Club Championships
July 6 - 9, 2017
Szeged, HUN

ECA Canoe Sprint Championships
July 14 - 16, 2017
Plovdiv, BUL

ECA Junior & U23 Canoe Slalom Championships
August 16 - 20, 2017
Hohenlimburg, GER

ECA Canoe Polo Championships
August 23 - 27, 2017
Saint Omer, FRA

ECA Canoe Slalom Championships May 31 - June 4, 2017 Tacen

ECA Junior Slalom Cup


Canoeing Technical Books

Federations login: