Slovak Canoeing awards the best athletes of the season 2016

27/02/2017 - Slovak Canoeing had an excellent season 2016 with medals at Olympic Games and European Championships both in canoe sprint and canoe slalom. Erik Vlček, Juraj Tarr, Tibor Linka and Denis Myšák were awarded for the performance of the year, best male canoe sprint athlete is Erik Vlček and best female canoe sprint athlete Martina Kohlová. Ladislav and Peter Škantár are the best canoe slalom sportsmen and Jana Dukátová the best female canoe slalom paddler of the season 2016. Slovak K4 was also named the best sports team in Slovakia of the year 2016.

Erik Vlček, Juraj Tarr, Tibor Linka and Denis Myšák will remember the year 2016 as one of the best in their lives. They won Olympic silver medal in Rio de Janeiro in men’s K4 1000 metres event, became European Champions in the same event in June in Moscow and also won a silver medal in men’s K4 500 metres event at the 2016 ECA Canoe Sprint European Championships. This brought them the title of the best sports team in Slovakia. They have become the most successful sports team in Slovakia with seven titles altogether (2001, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2016), ahead of Slovakian national ice hockey team. At the same awards ceremony of the best Sportsmen in Slovakia of the year 2016 Peter and Ladislav Škantár finished fourth in individual category and Matej Beňuš fifth.

Of course the successful K4 received an award for performance of the year also at the Canoe Sprint gala evening where the best in Slovak sprint canoeing have been recognised. Erik Vlček was named the best kayaker, Martina Kohlová the best sportswoman, Vincent Farkas the best canoeist, Csaba Zalka the best young athlete of the year and Peter Likér is trainer of the year.

“The older I get, the more I appreciate this award. With these guys we had a very good season, we have achieved excellent results,” said Erik Vlček.

Olympic Canoe Slalom Champions Peter and Ladislav Škantár took home awards for best sportsmen of the year at the whitewater gala of Slovak Canoeing as well as an award for the best C2 of the year. Jana Dukátová was named the best sportswoman and female kayaker of the year, the best canoeist of the year is Matej Beňuš, the best kayaker Jakub Grigar, the best female canoeist Simona Maceková, the best wildwater paddler Katarína Kopúnová, the best trainer Juraj Minčik, the best trainer of younger athletes Tomáš Mráz, the best official Ján Piaček, while Ivan Cibak and Mikuláš Čanda received an award for a lifetime contribution.

Slovak paddlers were among the best also in other awards ceremonies of the year 2016. Jana Dukátová received an award for the best sportswoman in selection of the National Sports Centre, in the same selection young canoe sprint athletes Samiel Baláž and Milan Fraňa were recognised as well, Jakub Grigar received an award as the best young sportsman of the year of the Army Sports Centre and Tomáš Mráz was named the best trainer of young athletes in the Army Sports Centre.

Europe Canoe Events

2017 ECA Competitions

ECA Canoe Wildwater Championships
May 11 - 14, 2017
Skopje, MKD

ECA Canoe Slalom Championships
May 31 - June 4, 2017
Tacen, SLO

ECA Junior & U23 Canoe Sprint Championships
June 22 - 25, 2017
Belgrade, SRB

ECA Canoe Marathon Championships
June 30 - July 2, 2017
Ponte de Lima, POR

ECA Dragonboat & Club Championships
July 6 - 9, 2017
Szeged, HUN

ECA Canoe Sprint Championships
July 14 - 16, 2017
Plovdiv, BUL

ECA Junior & U23 Canoe Slalom Championships
August 16 - 20, 2017
Hohenlimburg, GER

ECA Canoe Polo Championships
August 23 - 27, 2017
Saint Omer, FRA

ECA Canoe Slalom Championships May 31 - June 4, 2017 Tacen

ECA Junior Slalom Cup


Canoeing Technical Books

Federations login: